Cawthron Institute Trust Board.

In keeping with the original Thomas Cawthron Trust Act of 1924, the Cawthron Institute Trust Board includes the member of parliament for the electoral district of Nelson, the mayor of Tasman District, the mayor of Nelson, and the Anglican bishop of Nelson. These trustees appoint six additional trustees, who bring scientific and business expertise to the Board.


Elizabeth Bean Secretary

+64 3 548 2319 x 390

Trust Board

Archdeacon Harvey Ruru QSM Trustee

Harvey is the iwi representative on the Trust Board. He is also a trustee of Te Atiawa Iwi Trust, and formerly worked for the New Zealand Police in Tasman District. He is a Registered Comprehensive Nurse, Anglican Priest and Archdeacon.

Cawthron's Kaumātua provides advice to the Cawthron Chief Executive, Trust Board and Board of Directors in relation to te reo me ona tikanga Māori, and assists with developing and maintaining a sound relationship between Tangata Whenua and Cawthron.

Among other tasks, Cawthron's Kaumātua also provides support and guidance for Cawthron staff in tikanga Māori, and assists with powhiri and poroporoaki ceremonies at meetings that involve Board members and/or staff.

Bev Doole Trustee

Bev Doole is a former journalist now working in communications and project management, specialising in the environmental sector.  She is experienced in writing on resource management issues and State of the Environment reporting and is highly knowledgeable about conservation issues in the region, with a particular interest in the Marlborough Sounds. Bev is deputy chair of the Nelson Marlborough Conservation Board.

Bob Dickinson Chair

Bob was previously CEO at Tasman District Council for 17 years, a Director at Port Nelson Ltd for 13 years, and Chief Executive of Tasman Bays Heritage Trust and Chair of the Nelson Marlborough Conservation Board 2011 –2017. He was appointed Chair of the Trust Board in 2009 and is also a member of the Special Tribunal hearing Water Conservation Order for Te Waikoropupu Springs.


Dr Pamela Williams Trustee

After completing her science degree in ecology, marine biology, geology and botany, Dr Pamela Williams trained as a secondary school science teacher, then taught in Fiji and England before returning to teach in New Zealand. During 20 years of teaching, Pamela was involved in establishing a number of environmental education initiatives, actively involved in science education, outdoor education and ecological organisation committees. She was a founding Trustee of The Enviroschools Foundation, which she co-chaired from 2007 to 2013.

Pamela began her doctoral research while working at Victoria University of Wellington as a secondary teacher-advisor and researcher for Education for Sustainability, and was awarded her PhD ("University Leadership for Sustainability") in 2008. She is on the boards of the Nelson Environmental Centre and the Nelson Angel Women's Loan Fund.

Helen Smale Trustee

Helen Smale is a Marlborough based Trustee with experience in business, governance and quality management. Beginning her working career in medical laboratories, Helen subsequently worked in a number of science and management roles in the health sector, dairy processing and aquaculture water quality management where she built a world-wide reputation for new-to-the-world innovation and leadership. She joined Forté Management, of which she is a shareholder and Director, fulltime in 2013 as consultant, trainer and executive coach. Her recent qualifications include Diplomas in Training and Development and Professional Coaching.

Hon Dr Nick Smith Trustee

Nick first stood for public office at the age of 18 for the Rangiora District Council, while still at high school. Nick entered Parliament in 1990 and was the first National MP in Tasman since 1932. Following the MMP electoral reforms in 1996 he was elected the first Nelson National MP since 1954.

Rachel Reese Trustee

Rachel is a resource management consultant and Mayor of Nelson City. She was first elected to council in 2007 and elected as Mayor in 2013. Rachel's work in resource management commenced 16 years ago as a private consultant. She has had extensive involvement in aquaculture matters and RMA legislation reform. Rachel is an accredited Resource Management Commissioner.

Richard Kempthorne Trustee

Richard Kempthorne was an orchardist for 21 years prior to becoming a Tasman District Councillor in 2001. He was elected Mayor of Tasman in 2007. Richard is also Chair of the Tasman Regional Sports Trust, Chair of the New Zealand Agrichemical Education Trust, a member of the Land and Water Forum, and Chair of the New Zealand Boysenberry Council.

Rt Rev Richard Ellena Trustee

After 10 years of secondary school teaching, Bishop Richard Ellena trained for the Anglican ministry at St John's College in Auckland. After being ordained in 1985 he served in Timaru. In 1991 he moved to the Nelson Diocese to begin ministry at the Church of the Nativity in Blenheim. Richard was ordained as the Bishop of Nelson in February 2007.

Sarah-Jane Weir Trustee

Sarah-Jane is a professional director and a commercial lawyer. She holds a Master’s degree in Intellectual Property Law and is Chair of the Institute of Directors Nelson Marlborough branch. Passionate about the Nelson community and the lifestyle choices offered by the region, alongside her role as a Trustee for the Cawthron Trust Board, she is a Trustee and deputy Chair for Rātā Foundation and a director of Nelmac Limited and Network Tasman Limited.