General news

17 January 2020

New Directors appointed to Cawthron’s Board of Directors

Two new Directors have joined Cawthron Institute’s Board of Directors as part of recent changes to the Board.

Murray King, who has a background in farm management consultancy and management accounting, and Carl Carrington, previously CEO of Moana New Zealand (one of New Zealand’s largest seafood businesses), officially joined Cawthron’s Board in October 2019.

In addition, Andrew McGlashen joined the Board as an Emerging Director in November 2019 and current Emerging Director Dr Matt Peacey transitioned to become a Director on 1 January 2020.

“We warmly welcome our newest Directors. Cawthron Institute is fortunate to attract and retain high calibre directors for its Board,” says Meg Matthews, Chair. “It is also very positive to see Matt becoming a Director and adding his skills to the governance pool from which organisations such as ours can draw.”

Existing Director Dr Dianne McCarthy stepped down from the Board in December 2019 after seven years of service.

“Di has been an integral member of the Board during her service, and her distinguished career is inspirational to us all, particularly her strong focus on promoting and mentoring women in science,” says Matthews.

“I also acknowledge former Director Lees Seymour who retired from the Board in July 2019. His strong business acumen and insights added significant value. I’d like to thank both Di and Lees for their service to robust governance from which both the Cawthron Institute and the Nelson Tasman region have benefited hugely.”

Murray King, Carl Carrington, Matt Peacey and Andrew McGlashen join Matthews and continuing Directors Elaine McCaw, David Kenning and John Cunningham.

For more information about the Cawthron Institute Board of Directors and brief biographies about the Board’s new Directors and Emerging Director go to: